Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Problems with the construction of the Slayer Exciter...

Andremaia

Jan 31, 2018
Hello everyone reading this post! First of all, I don't understand a whole lot of electronics... In fact, I just started out... I'm a student and I stumbled upon this project called "the slayer exciter" and I'd like to make it work for the science fair at my school.
As you may have guessed it didn't work that well and that's why I'm here, hopefully I'll get this fixed before the delivery...
This is the circuit:
wF6ZyAd.png

For the seconday coil, I used a PVC pipe with about 2.5 cm of diameter(1 inch) and 9 cm of height(3.54 inches) and winded the coil all the way down, for the Primary coil I wound up 4 turns in the opposite direction of my secondary coil.. I used a 2N2222A transistor and I think I connected the ports correctly ( My transistor gets really hot within a few seconds of the circuit being turned on ) I used a 22k resistor.

I have some questions regarding electronics as well.
1. Can I use common copper wire to connect my circuit? ( my cables had a bunch of little wires instead of a solid grey wire. )
2. And shouldn't this circuit be wrong as it's open?

Thanks in regards, André

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
1. What do you mean by "to connect my circuit"? The coils are best wound from so called magnet wire.
2. The circuit "uses" the implicit capacitance from the output (open end) of the secondary coil to battery minus.

You may check:
1. Is the 9 V battery o.k.? This circuit will draw a lot of current and battery voltage will break down fast.
2. Did you try swapping the ends of teh primary coil as suggested by many online "instructions" for this circuit?

The operation of the circuit is described e.g. here.

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
I do not expect the LED to glow. It is used as a voltage clamp so that the negative voltage pulse given to the base of the transistor does not exceed its voltage rating.

Andremaia

Jan 31, 2018