Problem with writing eeprom memory

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Novacicm, Aug 12, 2017.

  1. Novacicm

    Novacicm

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to write atmel at28c256 on breadboard so I tied all address lines to ground, and all I/O lines also tied to ground. I untie I/O lines for reading, tie 'WE to high, 'CE to low, and 'OE to low for reading. I am reading all ones at I/O ports, no matter what address. So, when I try to write this eeprom I put 'OE high and with 'WE line I touch to ground so that should write stuff to memory but it does not, all I/O ports were connected. I also made small RC circuit with button on WE but that also does not work. Any toughts?
     
    Novacicm, Aug 12, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Novacicm

    kellys_eye

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,253
    Likes Received:
    589
    Location:
    West Coast, Scotland
    Have you read the data sheet for the device? It gives all the details of the parameters needed to read/write from the device.

    http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/doc0006.pdf

    When you've connected and tried to program the device according to the data sheet and still ahve a problem then get back to us.
     
    kellys_eye, Aug 12, 2017
    #2
    Novacicm likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Novacicm

    Novacicm

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, I already saw datasheet and tried to write a memory as it says but stil same problem.
     
    Novacicm, Aug 12, 2017
    #3
  4. Novacicm

    kellys_eye

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,253
    Likes Received:
    589
    Location:
    West Coast, Scotland
    You will - a standard 'unprogrammed' EPROM is usually set to FF (all locations).
     
    kellys_eye, Aug 12, 2017
    #4
    Novacicm likes this.
  5. Novacicm

    Novacicm

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I know that but also when I try to write memory to some pattern of 8bits I am always getting FF all ones in memory.
     
    Novacicm, Aug 12, 2017
    #5
  6. Novacicm

    kellys_eye

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,253
    Likes Received:
    589
    Location:
    West Coast, Scotland
    If you have tied all address and data lines to zero the programming function (assuming you get the proper 'low' pulse applied) will write whatever you have set on the data lines to the address you have on the data lines.

    Assuming all lines are zero then the programming pules should write 00 to address 0000.

    Have you got pull-up resistors on address/data lines?
    Have you got proper supply line decoupling in place?
    Have you got a de-bounced program signal?
     
    kellys_eye, Aug 12, 2017
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.