Power supply for CNC spindle

Discussion in 'Project Construction Technologies' started by Wildmine, Sep 28, 2016.

  1. Wildmine

    Wildmine

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wildmine, Sep 28, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Wildmine

    73's de Edd

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    2,310
    Likes Received:
    762
    Location:
    Texas
    Sir Wildmine . . . . . . .


    First . . . . . in looking at the router specs . . . . it optimizes out at its greatest capability if being supplied with 48VDC at 8 amps . . . to eventually use up to 400 watts.
    The supply that you designated was only outputting 12VDC, thereby potentially giving somewhat of a bucolic and lackluster performance.
    That is as being compared to what your unit COULD, do on its max end if running at up to 48 VDC.

    Instead, consider this unit below, with a 48VDC output at up to 8.3 amps, then your controller, that it then initially feeds into, then lets it get just as frisky as its machining /load operation needs . . . . on up to that max spec of your router.


    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/400W-48V-...542406?hash=item33be730a46:g:1GAAAOSwFV9Xyox7




    73's de Edd
     
    73's de Edd, Sep 29, 2016
    #2
    SUBSTATION likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Wildmine

    Wildmine

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers, i went with this:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/262370042996?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/272270634...49&var=571085391165&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT
     
    Wildmine, Sep 29, 2016
    #3
  4. Wildmine

    Minder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    536
    Location:
    Canadian Midwest
    Yes, the OP was already told this another forum.
    I prefer to use the more rugged Linear supply for spindle use, IMO regulated is not really needed.
    M.
     
    Minder, Sep 29, 2016
    #4
  5. Wildmine

    jaredwolff

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Haven
    I previously used a switching power supply on my Wolfgang spindle a while back. Unfortunately the supply was just not beefy enough to handle the inrush of the motor star and would stall once in a while. (Though most of the time it would run just fine)

    The one you bought is definitely beefy. Hopefully it should be able to handle said in-rush currents and keep things running smooth for what ever projects your running through your CNC.
     
    jaredwolff, Jun 12, 2018
    #5
  6. Wildmine

    Minder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    536
    Location:
    Canadian Midwest
    But when it goes south they are usually difficult to fix or find parts for, the linear is a cinch to fix, SHOULD it go wrong.
    M.
     
    Minder, Jun 12, 2018
    #6
    jaredwolff likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.