Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Pioneer SA-505 clicking

tooter

Feb 17, 2018
Hi all new to this forum hoping for some help with me trusty amp. just lately it stopped clicking when tuned on and no sound came out indicating the relay not activating it was intermittent. ive had a go at trouble shooting but now hit the extent of my knowledge.
What a have done so far.
removed the relay and tested continuity. OK
tested the actuator with a separate psu clicks as it should
removed the power transistors. tested with a mm all seems ok. (but im no expert used a guide on youtube to test)
then i tested the voltage on the board across the pins where the relay actuator lives and I get 48v which i found strange as the relay clearly states 24v. idont know where to go from here any input would be great full. thanks.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Pictures would be a good start, as would be an indication of where you are reading the voltage (and with respect to what).

Also, if you could briefly describe the tests you did on the transistors, whether you removed them form the circuit to test them, and the part numbers of the transistors (if not clearly visible on you photos).

tooter

Feb 17, 2018
Hi first of all thanks for taking the time to reply. I will do my best to give you a clear picture of what i have done so far.
1) Removed all 4 power tranys and tested using this guide.
https://vetco.net/blog/test-a-transistor-with-a-multi meter/2017-05-04-12-25-37-07
(
trany part no 2x A1104 2x C2679
data sheet if it helps https://www.semicon-data.com/transistor/tc/c0/C2679.html
https://www.semicon-data.com/transistor/tc/a0/A1104.html

Transistors.jpg
2) remvoved relay tested with a 20v power supply. click down as it should making the circuit across the terminals. I removed the cover to test the mechanical workings.

relay cobbver removed.jpg

3) tested the voltage where the relay sits and it was 48v.
underside pcb.jpg underside relay removed.jpg
hope ths helps clear things up a bit,