Maker Pro
Maker Pro

PCB for Dishwasher repair

cjcharles

Sep 10, 2016
Hello all,

I'm a newcomer here but this looks like an awesome forum so look forward to exploring more in the next few days!

I was an electronics engineer (a long old while ago), but still do bits and pieces, so keen to have a go at repairing my dishwasher given it will save me so much money... Long story short, my Bosch dishwasher stopped and showed no signs of life at all, after I opened it mid-cycle. I got a very faint smell of burning electronics and no amount of fuse replacements showed any life! (it is annoyingly about 12m out of warranty but was annoyingly expensive).

I have dismantled it down to the key PCB and have found a few components that look to have died:
  • 1 power resistor - seems to be 1GOhn, which sounds like a crazy high value to me and Id have no idea how you could blow this.... (would need a 32kV spike....).
  • A few small SMD components near a power regulator (SMPS?) device have also burnt out. These ones are harder to understand since I cant tell what to replace them with....
So that leaves me with a few questions...
Do you think replacing these components has a good chance of fixing the board (it was giving nothing at all before so some signs of life would be useful...)?
What do you think could have blown the power resistor and do you think I should worry about it? Or put it down to age and bad luck after something else failed?
Is there any way to identify what the small SMD components are, so I could have a go at replacing them?I can see them driving the big inductor just above it, so can imagine they will be important to fix...

Any advice very very much appreciated!
Thank you!
2016_09_10_17_47_58.jpg

2016_09_10_18_08_09.jpg

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
Looks like it might have a switching power supply, if so these are prone to fail in the power semi area.