Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Optical Pickup

Status
Not open for further replies.

m1kem00re

May 27, 2017
I am a mechanical engineer with minimal electronics knowledge. Therefore I am seeking advice on which products to select.

My project is to design an optical pickup (instead of the usual magnetic devices) for use with a bass guitar that I am building.

I wish to select 2 components: An infra-red emitter and an infra-red receiver.

The two components can be positioned facing each other about 20/30mm apart, with a vibrating string running between them.

The receiver needs to be able to detect the frequency and be capable of generating a small voltage which can be decoded and fed through an amplifier to produce an audible tone at a pitch identical to that of the vibrating string.

Any advice on any additional circuitry would also be appreciated

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
You can get a device with a slot between an emitter and detector for counting purposes. If this is a digital switch it will be no use for you, you will need an analogue version with the string attenuating the signal.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
My project is to design an optical pickup (instead of the usual magnetic devices) for use with a bass guitar that I am building.

The two components can be positioned facing each other about 20/30mm apart, with a vibrating string running between them.

interesting thought but I see 2 significant issues that you may not have considered

1) you realise you will need 4 sets ? one for each string .... I suspect you will find this extremely difficult to do due to the lack of space

2) I also suspect that you will find that you will get nowhere near the output that you would from a magnetic pickup

Externet

Aug 24, 2009
Yesterday I repaired an optical smoke detector. It has the assembly as you describe, with the proper mounting cradle for the IR emitter/receiver.
The two components can be positioned facing each other about 20/30mm apart,