Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Old PC PSU Fan issue.

Alex Scott

Jul 3, 2014
Hey guys

A semi-electronics noob here. I recently turned an old 350 Watt Dell ATX PC power supply into a multi voltage bench power supply for testing basic circuits. I opened up the machine and cut some wires and ran the 3.3v, 5.5v, 12v and ground wires to some terminal posts, and it all works fine! I also installed a switch so I can leave it plugged into the mains constantly. The voltages are all correct and it does indeed provide power (only tested on basic LED circuit so far, nothing that actually consumes a large amount of energy.)

Anyway, in my naivety I have some how stopped the fan working. I assume this is a normal 12V DC PC fan, and I do not want my power supply to overheat. The 2 wires on the fan are all hooked up straight to the board, but I'm guessing there was a connector on the 20 pin plug that goes into the motherboard that controlled the fan that I have severed? Anyway, how do I apply a load to the fan to get it running again? It worked perfectly fine before I messed about with it.

Regards

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi Alex

just reroute the fan wires directly to a 12V source :)

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
The 2 wires on the fan are all hooked up straight to the board, but I'm guessing there was a connector on the 20 pin plug that goes into the motherboard that controlled the fan that I have severed? Anyway, how do I apply a load to the fan to get it running again? It worked perfectly fine before I messed about with it.

Regards
As Dave said, just hook it up to 12V and call it done :)

The 20 or 24 pin plug on a power supply does not carry power or signal of any sort for the fan 'inside' the power supply module.
Look around and make sure you didn't damage the board.
Inspect the wires from the fan to make sure they are not damaged.