Maker Pro
Maker Pro

no of pin issue- smart card chip( 6 or 8 contacts) and microcontroller(40 pin)?

rohitamitpathak

Nov 17, 2011
Good Evening to all,
I am a student of computer science.. for last some some days i am stuck in something, In this time i am working over smart card technology, there i saw a chip, which is a kind of microcontroller { i attached a pic for this } . I read also about microcontroller 8051 because it is widely used, this microcontroller have 40 pins ...

But
the smart card chip only have 6 or 8 contacts or pins, so i am confused what about remaining pins present in microcontroller, Is chip contacts are the pin of microcontroller?
People say that - In smart card only 5 pin (vcc, vpp, grnd, i/o,reset) are required that why other microcontroller pin omitted.
please share your knowledge with me, and let me know if anything u want to ask

Note- i attaced two pic, a microntroller or chip here.

Attachments

• images.jpg
    images.jpg
    13.2 KB · Views: 2,196
  • imagess.jpg
    imagess.jpg
    16.1 KB · Views: 734

MattyMatt

Mar 24, 2011
Good evening and welcome to the forums.

First off, I would like to say that there are many different types of smart cards, the majority are generally designed for information storage and secure access (like a SIM card in a GSM based mobile phone). Some government bodies also use them for information storage, such as the U.S. Government issues military ID badges with smart cards in them that not only allow the person access to resources (such as a computer or a room in a building), but they also hold the medical records of the person as well.

The particular micro controller that you have attached a picture of, is probably not the one that is at the center of the smart card. Generally the smart card's only function is to allow storage of information, and more than likely, it is just basically a EPROM that is at the center of the smart card.