Maker Pro
Maker Pro

New to electronics, have a basic build

PfL597

Jan 21, 2017
Hello there! I am new to not only the forum but electronics in general. I have a lot of learning to do as I have been studying Ohm's law as well as figuring out the basic components I need for my build.

I want to weigh something on a small scale, let's say the maximum weight would be 1 pound while the minimum weight would be 3 hundredths of a pound, and then I want to transmit that data over Bluetooth.

So, I know what Load Cell and amplifier I need.

Microcontrollers and Bluetooth chips are my sticking point. With so many out there that do so many things, I would like something that's cost efficient and small, something that still gets the job done.

What type of Microcontroller do I use and what brand would you suggest? The same question for Bluetooth chip.

Any help at all would be much appreciated!

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
If your weighing platform has only one load cell, then the uC needs only one A/D input if it has an internal reference. That narrows the field to just under i gazillion parts. The real question is what are your programming skills?

ak

PfL597

Jan 21, 2017
They are non existent as of now. I am working with someone on this build. He has the programming skills while I am working on the hardware. I imagine that I may need to learn the programming aspect of this also. I am learning as much as I can so I have started with basic electronic knowledge. I have been doing searches for all of this stuff and have just recently narrowed down the types of each component I need. So while I plan on learning what I need to know to understand the entire circuit I am building, I am hoping to get support from people who have done this type of stuff before so that I just don't start buying parts and learning the hard way which ones are unnecessary.