Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need Help Repairing Bicycle LED Lights

JohnS0N

Nov 14, 2016
Hello,

a noob here. In the forums as well as in electronics. I do know how to solder a bit, measure volts and connect + with +, other than that please do not assume much knowledge.

I would like to repair these LED lights here and for the purpose, I made a few videos and pictures.

Please watch the below video and listen to my explanation with perfect pitch English accent.

In this second video, I demonstrate how you need to find that "sweet spot" in order for the light to shine bright like a...

Now my question is how do I fix this? How can I make this small piece to shine when I press it in the middle (so it can actually work with the silicone body on), and also that it will work when pressed lightly (else it may also not work when it is covered with the silicone body). As seen in the above video, the light just works when pressed somewhere on the far left and you need to press it quite a lot.

Here we also have some pictures. These first two are of a working circuit. One back and one front.

These other two are of a circuit whose "little metal cap" I took off, so that you can see what is below the metal cap. By taking off the metal cap, I have of course also "destroyed" the pins on the other side. These were holding on to the cap and providing connection with the battery. Here also one back and one front.

Now I have about 20 of these lights that I would really like to fix. I don't like throwing products and materials in the bin if there's a chance of fixing it! Thanks so much for reading this and for any kind of help in explaining how these lights actually work and how I can fix it.

mikey5791

Jun 7, 2013
Hi Johnson,

Can you use "Upload a File" tab to upload your pictures; showing both front and back side.