Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Multimeter reading of LED

tedstruk

Jan 7, 2012
The measurement is of forward voltage drop, right? and the setting on the multimeter is the diode setting, it doesn't read the diode backwards right? OK so when you test an LED and it says 1730 and you are supposed to be figuring out the proper resistor to use so you don't burn out the expensive LED array... what reading is the meter giving me? is this 1730 reading in millivolts?

Terry01

Jul 5, 2017
Yes,I think your correct. 1.730 volts sounds correct for an LED. I also think you should wait for one of the more knowledgeable guys to confirm it. They'll tell you exactly what you need too so you don't burn your LED out. I'm still learning so could be wrong.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
It is the forward voltage at some current, not the operating current of the LED.

The multimeter will apply a very small current to a diode under test, so the voltage reading will be way lower than the forward voltage at say 20mA, or at 1A or more that might be the operating current of a high power LED.

To measure the forward voltage at the operating current, use a current limited supply with the current turned all the way down, then increase the current until you get to the operating current. Now measure the voltage.

Bob

tedstruk

Jan 7, 2012
Is forward voltage, the voltage after a devices voltage drop?

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Forward voltage is the voltage drop in the conducting (forward) direction (+ to anode, - to cathode).
Reverse voltage would be the voltage drop in the non-conducting (reverse) direction (+ to cathode, - to anode).

altronic

Sep 20, 2017