Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Motion sensor timing

Katie Davidson Smith

Feb 9, 2018
I'm a university product design student who doesn't have much of an idea about electrics but I need help for my project. I'm creating night light that needs to be turned on from a piece of paper sliding through a slot.
I've been looking at motion sensors that turn turn on lights but I cannot find any that keep a light on longer than about 12 minutes. I need something that would last for lets say two or three hours.
Can any one help?

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
I'm a university product design student who doesn't have much of an idea about electrics but I need help for my project.
So why would you choose a project requiring "electrics" of which you don't know much about?

I'm creating night light that needs to be turned on from a piece of paper sliding through a slot.
Why? How is this "better" than using an ordinary manually-operated toggle or rotary or push-button switch? Have you seen a device marketed as "The Clapper" which turns a light on or off at the clap of your hands?

What is the purpose of the paper? What size and thickness is it? Will it buckle if it encounters resistance when you attempt to slide it through a slot? How much light will pass through the paper if a photoelectric sensor is used to sense the presence of the paper? Perhaps the paper's dielectric properties vis a vis air can be used to distinguish its presence or absence? How is the paper slid through a slot? Is it stiff, like card stock? Is there a motor-driven roller that pulls the paper into the slot when the presence of the paper is somehow sensed? This is a common mechanism used to detect larger denominations of counterfeit currency and may be apropos to your product design, although it sounds a bit like overkill just to turn on a night light.