Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Modifying an antique camera

landcameras

Jun 3, 2014
I'm a camera technician (of the modern era) who works on antique cameras. I don't have the deep electronics knowledge that my profession's techs in the past were required to have. So saying that, I'm knowledgeable enough just to make me dangerous.
Here's what I need help with, and it’s quite simple I just needs some quick questions answered in guidance. I have an antique camera that I'm modifying. There is a single capacitor that controls exposure (the shutter). This camera was limited to one type of film, or film speed by this single capacitor. A more advanced camera would have multiple capacitors, controlled by a switch accessible to the photographer labeled as film speed. (100 speed / 200 speed/ 400 speed etc.).
The goal of this project is to add that switch. That is the easy part, I understand that and have already determined the capacitance needed. What I’m struggling with is the best way to do it, in regards to economy of space. This project really is electronics 101, but I’d like to take it a step further with some help.
Assets:
  1. Easy access to the original capacitor.
  2. A little bit of space to work with. I say a bit, because if it were anywhere else on the camera’s single circuit board, I’d be running wires elsewhere to create enough space. That said, internally I’ve got ~1/2” x ½” x ½” or so. Much of it going to be taken up by the switch. So we’re talking small.
Challenges:
  1. Space
  2. Desire to make this a more complex array
Desires
  1. Basic: two capacitors wired together with a switch.
  2. Good: Three capacitors wired together with an SP3T switch
  3. Ideal: Capacitor array of some sort attached to a dial for selecting many speeds.