Maker Pro
Maker Pro

M54128 Earth Leakage Current Detector

kevindd992002

Nov 24, 2010
Can anyone please help me on what function does the M54128 Earth Leakage Current Detector do? I don't quite understand what it does based on the datasheet: http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/view/992/MITSUBISHI/M54128FP.html provided by Renesas/Mitsubishi.

I'm in the process of doing an Analysis and Simulation job in my company but I'm new to this. I have the circuit of the whole chip but am having a hard time analyzing it.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Perhaps you need to assist us by telling us what you don't understand.

The first paragraph of the datasheet told me all I needed to know, but I guess you need to know more.

"The M54128 is a semiconductor integrated circuit designed for
high-speed type earth leakage breakers. This lC includes leakage
and abnormal voltage detecting functions"

kevindd992002

Nov 24, 2010
Perhaps you need to assist us by telling us what you don't understand.

The first paragraph of the datasheet told me all I needed to know, but I guess you need to know more.

"The M54128 is a semiconductor integrated circuit designed for
high-speed type earth leakage breakers. This lC includes leakage
and abnormal voltage detecting functions"

Hmm. Well, I have the whole chip circuit with me (transistor level) and my task is to analyze how it works. I'm having a hard time though because it is my first time to analyze a whole chip circuit. I also have Cadence to simulate it.

Would it be possible for you guys to help me analyze each block of this IC?

What does earth-leakage exactly mean? Is this unwanted current that flows to ground?

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
I don't mean to sound obtuse, but are you a reenigne?

It sounds really odd that you've been employed to do this and you don't even know the function of the chip.

Have you tried this.

kevindd992002

Nov 24, 2010