Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Li-ion charging question.

Terry01

Jul 5, 2017
I have retrieved 6 Li-ion cells from a think pad I took apart. I've searched them on google and found the same ones Sanyo cells. I've split them into single cells. I've charged them @4.2v 1.7A like the data sheet says. My question is....is it safe to let the A fall away to 0.000A? I've been stopping them @ the 200mA mark.
Sorry if this seems a silly question but I'd defo rather run it past those that know best.
Thanks....Terry

Terry01

Jul 5, 2017
Cool,thank you. I stopped the charge at 200mA as didn't know. I will read the link then put them on charge again. I'm taking my first TV apart just now so will get to the batteries soon.

Terry01

Jul 5, 2017
I read the link you posted,good info for a complete beginner like me. Thanks! I use my bench power supply to charge them so I'll err on the side of caution and stop them around 150mA. I got the cells from an old think pad i stripped,they lay dead for a long time with no charge at all. I'll charge them up then leave them a while and see how they are after a couple weeks.

I stripped an old TV last night and got some good stuff from it....I think? :)
I've still got some parts to take from it today so looking forward to that. Hopefully soon I'll have enough bits to start making simple projects to give me a change from eBay DIY kits! :)

Thanks again for the help!
Terry

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
Salvage is fun, but not really worth the effort except for a few specialty parts.

What you really need is a large collection of resistors ans capacitors, which can be bought very cheaply on EBay. These will give you several of each common value for less than a penny a piece.

Bob

Terry01

Jul 5, 2017