Maker Pro
Maker Pro

LED project.

Johndog

Feb 23, 2017
Hello to you all. I am an electronics novice, please keep that in mind.
I am starting a project which is to aide children to improve their rhythm and timing. I need to create a strip of led's in a row, the first led would be the starter and would flash 3 times before the othe lights would come on sequentially ( like the lights on Kit, in knight rider) to the last light then back, creating a visually moving light back then forward to the original start position. I would be grateful if someone could point me in the right direction.
Regards johndog

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
A Knight rider is made with one or two CD4017 (low current) or 74HC4017 (much higher current) sequencer ICs and some diode OR gates. Another 4017 IC can turn the first LED on and off 3 times with OR gates. Each 4017 has 10 outputs (you didn't say how many LEDs) and are clocked with an oscillator that can be a Cmos 555 IC.

Or a microcontroller can be programmed and used to do some of it.

Johndog

Feb 23, 2017
A Knight rider is made with one or two CD4017 (low current) or 74HC4017 (much higher current) sequencer ICs and some diode OR gates. Another 4017 IC can turn the first LED on and off 3 times with OR gates. Each 4017 has 10 outputs (you didn't say how many LEDs) and are clocked with an oscillator that can be a Cmos 555 IC.

Or a microcontroller can be programmed and used to do some of it.
Thanks for your reply. Your clearly very knowledgeable. This information is over my head. Not your fault, but my lack of technical electronics means i dont understand. What kind of people could i contact to help me? Regards johndog

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
A Knight Rider display is such a common thing that you can google it an find lots of schematics, project pages, and a few kits. Your requirements are unique only in that the first LED flashes three times before the rest of the display kicks in, then flashes singly when its turn comes around - correct?