Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Leaked Battery Motherboard Repair

XsamX1987

Jun 24, 2017
Hello every one so my friends dad gave me an old computer its from 1990 or 1993 any way I spotted a leaking battery so I disordered it nd there is some damage so I had to remove the din connecter and where the mother board connects an old school 12pin I did this so I could see how far the damage has gone

I'm looking for advise for the lines and tracers as I'm still getting continuity but I can see the corrosion I've cleaned the area with rubbing alcohol and I've scratched off a little of the rust/oxidation

What is a good and simple way to fix this

I am very new to this and my skill level is low

tools and parts available to me

20 watt soldering iron

solder

kynar wire

solder wick/braid

rubbing alcohol

tooth brush

a chap digital multi meter

The back you can see the very bad job I did here :(

back.jpg

The front

20170725_005025.jpg

Attachments

• 20170725_005025.jpg
    20170725_005025.jpg
    293.3 KB · Views: 77

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
Ideally you would use a continuity meter and trace the path of the copper track to points at either end where the corrosion is not apparent and then check that the path between those two points is continuous.

On your picture I see that pin 2 of the DIN socket has a track that goes via L3 then off to the right somewhere (off picture). So measure between pin 2 and where ever that track ends up to ensure continuity. If you can't measure it then you have to solder a wire link between the two points instead.

Note that L3 (and L2) are simple ferrite beads over straight wire so have no (or very little) resistance and can thus be considered as 'short circuit' for the purpose of continuity testing.