Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Issues with vintage JVC CRT TV

JerichoXX

Aug 1, 2018
Hello,

This is my first time on the forum, I didn't know where else to turn since I am unable to figure out the issue that is currently bothering me. I thank anyone who responds to this forum, anyway. I currently have a three tube tv setup, where I have three tube tv's all hooked up to a vintage Radioshack RF out video selector. The three tv's are a 1978 Electrohome, a 1989 Mitsubishi and a 1984 JVC. The first two are working fine, the JVC is not. The model number for the JVC is C-14SSCA.

I found the tv recently at a thrift store, the tv turns on. However when I first got it, all the channels were incorrect, it only had channels like 2, 7, 45, etc. The tv is capable of reprogramming channels, so I tried reprogramming a channel 3 on it, however I get no video still. Its not the radioshack box either, as I tried without using it. Its nothing but static with no indication of any input, the channel 4 kinda works, but the video is all messed up. I have no idea where to even begin.

Hopefully someone knows what the issue might be.

dave9

Mar 5, 2017
The world has moved on. TV tubes have a finite lifespan, what are you going to do when the tube wears out even if you repair the rest?

They are wasting a lot of power for what they do. Suppose you could make them last forever, magically, without any effort on your part. Would this be a good thing when the power savings would pay for new TVs?

Do you not accept that at some point things wear out to the point where they are not cost effective to repair? I wish this wasn't the case, and some times it isn't, with some audio amps for example, but for TVs, this seems like an exercise in madness and that you're a glutton for punishment to want 4:3 SD ratio blurry tube TV.