Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Is there any way to fix transistor voltage drop?

supak111

★ƃuᴉɯǝɥɔs sʎɐʍlɐ★
Apr 29, 2012
Hey guys I have simple light activated circuit that when its ON is usually only ON for less then 1/4 of second. I usually power it from 12v or 24v. My problem is the voltage drop on the 0V side. Here is the circuit (mine doesn't have the LED):

ldr-light-activated-circuit.jpg

Is there any way to fix the voltage drop? Maybe by adding a capacitor someplace or even a small solar cell? I just need to add about 1v to the circuit so that the whole circuit acts like a short for 1/4 of a second when its ON.

Total newbe at circuit design and I sure didn't go to school for this so any suggestions or help are much appreciated. Thanks

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
So the problem is that when light is present, the transistor turns on, but there's still some voltage between its collector and emitter, so the voltage across the load (in the collector circuit) isn't as much as it should be?

An N-channel MOSFET will give you a very low ON voltage, but needs to be driven from a signal with a wider voltage swing than you need for a transistor. You could try replacing the transistor with a BS170 (gate = base; drain = collector; source = emitter) and adjusting the potentiometer so it switches at the right brightness level. That may work better than the transistor.

What load are you driving in the collector circuit? How many milliamps does the transistor (or MOSFET) need to pass? If it's more than around 100 mA then you may need to use a bigger MOSFET, and there may be an issue with heat dissipation if the light level remains around the switching threshold, because the MOSFET (or the transistor) will be only partly conducting, which causes higher power dissipation than fully ON and fully OFF. In that case you should add a Schmitt trigger to provide a clean ON/OFF control signal to the device that drives the load.

supak111

★ƃuᴉɯǝɥɔs sʎɐʍlɐ★