Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Inverter Generator won't produce power

kingfishbc

Jul 14, 2014
I'm both a newbie here and pathetically under-educated in electronics and electricity. But I think I am teachable, and I am asking for help in trouble shooting an inverter generator that won't produce power. I hope I am at least remotely in the right place...

The I/G is a Honeywell HW200i that was given to me by a friend in return for a favor I performed. He bought the genset on Amazon about 5 years ago and never used it; never started it, never even fueled it. I took it home, fueled it up, checked the oil, followed the instructions and started it. It ran slowly, obviously way below the 5000 RPM on the face plate, whether in or out of "efficiency" mode, and the power light never lit so I believe it was not producing power. Anyway, I thought maybe an inverter generator needs to have a complete ground system to operate correctly, so I shut it down, and drove and connected a ground rod.

Then I couldn't get it to re-start, no matter what I did. So I figured out how to remove all the plastic cladding, and removed, dis-assembled and cleaned the carb. After I re-assembled and re-installed the carb, it started and ran, this time in what sounded to me like the appropriate RPM range, and it backed down in the efficiency mode and came back up to higher RPM upon turning the efficiency mode off. But it didn't produce power. The green light on the control board indicating power production didn't light and an electric drill motor plugged into either AC outlet didn't run.