Maker Pro
Maker Pro

In need of a great power supply

Matheus Mello

May 23, 2018
Hi there. I need a good bench power supply, which i want to build myself, for my hobby lab. The thing is, i have been thinking about LM-317 as my linear voltage regulator (and because here where i live i don't have no access to better ones). The design must have these features:

a)Current control from few mA to 5A

b)Voltage control from 0V to 30V.

For this purpose I've built this schematic, which i attached here. Please, tell me what you think about this project or if does work or does not, for i am a beginner in these things. R8 is just a dummy load.

The things i need help:

1) How can i add a minimum load (10 mA as by LM-317 datasheet) to keep the power supply operating in different potentials?

2) I need a replacement for 2n3822, i can't find it in my country too.

3) Can I run it from a fixed switched power supply (way more cheaper than buying a transformer here)?

4) In the future, I'm thinking about adding digital control with PWM to this circuit with Arduino or something like that. Do you think this is feasible?

Thanks in advance and sorry for my English.

BS.png

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
Can you get hold of the LT1083 device? This is a 3A (or 5A or 7A, depends on the sub-set device you choose) and pin-compatible with the LM317. Saves all the extra circuitry.

Current limiting down to 10mA seems a bit excessive but the LM317 (or LT1083) can be wired as a current limiter using just one component.

A built circuit board using the LT-device is only around $5

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LT1083-A...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
If you want a linear regulator which you can vary over a large voltage range and which has a high current output, a problem is likely to be power dissipation at low voltage.

There are several options:
  1. Reduce the current capability at low voltages
  2. Have an enormous heatsink