Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How to wire tweeter to speaker

kourosh

Aug 13, 2014
Hello Everyone
I am trying to make an Audio system with Players, Preamps, Amplifier's, Speakers and tweeters.
since this post was about connecting tweeters to the speaker topic which is my question too, I am jumping in the middle of talk too.
and my old account got banned for distributing copyrighted stuff(music), (of course, as a computer programmer I am not going to be considered in copyright license's, anyway).
this is the situation I have :

| ----->4 ohms Speaker Left
20 WATT AMPLIFIER ----------------------- |
|------>4 ohms Speaker Right

so the four (8 ohms) tweeter has to be connected to the speaker's circuit somewhere and I read somewhere that I have to use 1.5 to 3.3 picofarad 250v capacitors as the filter in between speaker and tweeter so there's is two problem right now: first how to connect two 8 ohms, speaker to the one side of speaker considering capacitor's , my assumption is :
parallel resistors model:
|2.2 picofarad capacitor--->8 ohms tweeter 1
4 ohms Speaker Left ----------------|
|2.2picofarad capacitor---->8 ohms tweeter 2

and the same thing for the right side of the audio system.
is it a conventional model for connecting tweeters to the audio system?

Ian

Administrator
Aug 23, 2006
I've moved this post to a new thread in the Audio forum, as the other thread was pretty old :).

WHONOES

May 20, 2017
The value of capacitor required depends on the crossover frequency you desire and the speaker(s) impedance.
Some values for both would be a good place to start. Are you intending to connect two in parallel or singly in separate units. It's not entirely clear from your post.

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
Please define what you mean by speaker.
You have a stereo system with one amplifier driving left and the other driving right.
The tweeters are normally connected to the amplifier through a capacitor. These will not be in the pf range, such values will be used for radio frequencies.