Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How to talk to a usb device

r4dn0t

Nov 20, 2016
Dear Fellows,

I'm a computer programmer with no background about electronics. I have a scenario and I want you to help me to achieve my project objectives.

I have a portable 4g modem with WiFi internet sharing and I want to use this modem as a sms sending device for one of my applications. this modem has a usb cable for charging.

Now, there is some questions which I could not find any answer for them:

1. How can I connect to a USB device with a USB cable?
2. How can I find out the commands that the device will respond to?
3. Is it ever possible to debug a device and for example change it's operating system?

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
1. How can I connect to a USB device with a USB cable?
Perhaps you need to explain better what you mean here... I would simply tell you to connect the USB cable to the device, then connect the other end of the cable to a computer. That being said... it's not uncommon for a 'USB device' to have the USB connector only for power. If this is the case, data will *not* flow, and communicating over this port will not be possible.
2. How can I find out the commands that the device will respond to?
Documentation... it is *possible* to find this out yourself, but I'm confident in that you lack the skills required. I do as well.
With enough time and effort, you could in theory use USB debugging techniques and custom made drivers to figure it out... worst case would require that you disassemble the device and try to dump the firmware to understand all of the commands. Very time consuming, and difficult.

3. Is it ever possible to debug a device and for example change it's operating system?
Yes, but you can't just download windows or linux and put it on the device... The skills required would be quite high unless you are lucky enough to find a project online that has alternative software/OS for the device in question.

So... I think you are over your head here.