How to get different OUTPUT voltages in ARM micro?

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers and Programming' started by Bruce McC, Nov 30, 2016.

  1. Bruce McC

    Bruce McC

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey buddies,what's up?!

    I'm using an ARM cortex M0 micro called FRDM-KL25Z (what a funky name! I knew that! :) ) . I'd like to run a simple motor at different speeds. How can I get different OUTPUT voltages to operate this armature ?

    Do I need any extra component which generates altering DC voltages? if so what is this device called?

    tnx guys
     
    Bruce McC, Nov 30, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Bruce McC

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    7,761
    Likes Received:
    1,384
    Location:
    Germany-Europe-Earth-Sol System-Milky Way-Laniakea
    Harald Kapp, Nov 30, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Bruce McC

    Bruce McC

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a small DC motor(like an Armature). It is supposed to get connected to an ARM micro-controller and automatically change its speed. Actually I'd like to know how I can get altering OUTPUT voltages in this microcontroller. Should I use any special device which generates different voltages or does the ARM micorcontroller in the question "FRDM-KL25Z " have the ability to generate different output voltage?
     
    Bruce McC, Nov 30, 2016
    #3
  4. Bruce McC

    Bluejets

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    2,133
    Likes Received:
    423
    You already have your answer from #2.
     
    Bluejets, Nov 30, 2016
    #4
  5. Bruce McC

    BobK

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,777
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    You do not control a motor with varying voltage and a micro cannot output enough power to run a motor directly.

    Look up "PWM". Look up "motor driver".

    Bob
     
    BobK, Dec 2, 2016
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.