How to get different OUTPUT voltages in ARM micro?

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers and Programming' started by Bruce McC, Nov 30, 2016.

  1. Bruce McC

    Bruce McC

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey buddies,what's up?!

    I'm using an ARM cortex M0 micro called FRDM-KL25Z (what a funky name! I knew that! :) ) . I'd like to run a simple motor at different speeds. How can I get different OUTPUT voltages to operate this armature ?

    Do I need any extra component which generates altering DC voltages? if so what is this device called?

    tnx guys
     
    Bruce McC, Nov 30, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Bruce McC

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    7,436
    Likes Received:
    1,269
    Location:
    Germany-Europe-Earth-Sol System-Milky Way-Laniakea
    Harald Kapp, Nov 30, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Bruce McC

    Bruce McC

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a small DC motor(like an Armature). It is supposed to get connected to an ARM micro-controller and automatically change its speed. Actually I'd like to know how I can get altering OUTPUT voltages in this microcontroller. Should I use any special device which generates different voltages or does the ARM micorcontroller in the question "FRDM-KL25Z " have the ability to generate different output voltage?
     
    Bruce McC, Nov 30, 2016
    #3
  4. Bruce McC

    Bluejets

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,957
    Likes Received:
    397
    You already have your answer from #2.
     
    Bluejets, Nov 30, 2016
    #4
  5. Bruce McC

    BobK

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,607
    Likes Received:
    1,317
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    You do not control a motor with varying voltage and a micro cannot output enough power to run a motor directly.

    Look up "PWM". Look up "motor driver".

    Bob
     
    BobK, Dec 2, 2016
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. vead

    How to find out current in circuit?

    vead, Jul 25, 2016, in forum: Electronics Homework Help
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    517
    Ratch
    Jul 27, 2016
  2. Chengjun Li

    How to use a Side-Brazed Dual In-Line Ceramic Package

    Chengjun Li, Aug 9, 2016, in forum: General Electronics Chat
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    445
    shrtrnd
    Aug 10, 2016
  3. alex_gomez
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    695
    davenn
    Jun 19, 2017
  4. hevans1944

    How to Interface to PT4303-S Superhet Receiver Chip

    hevans1944, Sep 3, 2016, in forum: General Electronics Chat
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,268
    hevans1944
    Sep 3, 2016
  5. Name...
    Replies:
    32
    Views:
    1,444
    Audioguru
    May 25, 2017
  6. Alexsieg

    How do constant current loads work and how to make one

    Alexsieg, Sep 30, 2016, in forum: General Electronics Chat
    Replies:
    28
    Views:
    1,004
    CDRIVE
    Mar 6, 2017
  7. Alex Hamilton

    How to use an accelerometer in a circuit

    Alex Hamilton, Oct 9, 2016, in forum: Microcontrollers and Programming
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    348
    hevans1944
    Oct 9, 2016
  8. r4dn0t

    How to talk to a usb device

    r4dn0t, Nov 20, 2016, in forum: General Electronics Chat
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    291
    Rayregula
    Mar 18, 2017
Loading...