How to get different OUTPUT voltages in ARM micro?

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers and Programming' started by Bruce McC, Nov 30, 2016.

  1. Bruce McC

    Bruce McC

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey buddies,what's up?!

    I'm using an ARM cortex M0 micro called FRDM-KL25Z (what a funky name! I knew that! :) ) . I'd like to run a simple motor at different speeds. How can I get different OUTPUT voltages to operate this armature ?

    Do I need any extra component which generates altering DC voltages? if so what is this device called?

    tnx guys
     
    Bruce McC, Nov 30, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Bruce McC

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6,703
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    Location:
    Germany-Europe-Earth-Sol System-Milky Way-Laniakea
    Harald Kapp, Nov 30, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Bruce McC

    Bruce McC

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a small DC motor(like an Armature). It is supposed to get connected to an ARM micro-controller and automatically change its speed. Actually I'd like to know how I can get altering OUTPUT voltages in this microcontroller. Should I use any special device which generates different voltages or does the ARM micorcontroller in the question "FRDM-KL25Z " have the ability to generate different output voltage?
     
    Bruce McC, Nov 30, 2016
    #3
  4. Bruce McC

    Bluejets VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    274
    You already have your answer from #2.
     
    Bluejets, Nov 30, 2016
    #4
  5. Bruce McC

    BobK VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,044
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    You do not control a motor with varying voltage and a micro cannot output enough power to run a motor directly.

    Look up "PWM". Look up "motor driver".

    Bob
     
    BobK, Dec 2, 2016
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. vead

    How to find out current in circuit?

    vead, Jul 25, 2016, in forum: Electronics Homework Help
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    400
    Ratch
    Jul 27, 2016
  2. Chengjun Li

    How to use a Side-Brazed Dual In-Line Ceramic Package

    Chengjun Li, Aug 9, 2016, in forum: General Electronics Chat
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    297
    shrtrnd
    Aug 10, 2016
  3. alex_gomez
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    316
    Martaine2005
    Aug 24, 2016
  4. hevans1944

    How to Interface to PT4303-S Superhet Receiver Chip

    hevans1944, Sep 3, 2016, in forum: General Electronics Chat
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    583
    hevans1944
    Sep 3, 2016
  5. Name...
    Replies:
    28
    Views:
    759
  6. Alexsieg

    How do constant current loads work and how to make one

    Alexsieg, Sep 30, 2016, in forum: General Electronics Chat
    Replies:
    23
    Views:
    532
    (*steve*)
    Oct 21, 2016
  7. Alex Hamilton

    How to use an accelerometer in a circuit

    Alex Hamilton, Oct 9, 2016, in forum: Microcontrollers and Programming
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    213
    hevans1944
    Oct 9, 2016
  8. r4dn0t

    How to talk to a usb device

    r4dn0t, Nov 20, 2016, in forum: General Electronics Chat
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    181
    r4dn0t
    Nov 25, 2016
Loading...