How to connect op amps in parallel

Discussion in 'Circuit Help' started by Looee, Jan 7, 2017.

  1. Looee

    Looee

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    We are trying to put 5 different signals on a 120 volt power line. We are running each signal through an op amp to increase the amplitude. We connected the output of all the op amps together. However, this causes the amplitude of the signals to attenuate. Is there a way that we can connect all the signals together without any attenuation?
     
    Looee, Jan 7, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Looee

    AnalogKid VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Ohio - GMT-5
    Yes.

    ak
     
    AnalogKid, Jan 7, 2017
    #2
    Arouse1973 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Looee

    BobK VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,047
    Likes Received:
    1,132
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    To be a little more helpful, lookup summing amplifier.

    Bob
     
    BobK, Jan 7, 2017
    #3
  4. Looee

    duke37 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4,085
    Likes Received:
    429
    Location:
    Derbyshire. UK
    You can sum with resistors to a common point. If you make this point at the -input of the op-amp, you will have a virtual earth amplifier. The current going into this common point will carry on through the feedback resistor and so will generate a polarity reversed voltage. One input will not affect any other input.
     
    duke37, Jan 7, 2017
    #4
  5. Looee

    AnalogKid VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Ohio - GMT-5
    Actually, I think my response was very helpful. It was carefully crafted to encapsulate all of the technical requirement in post #1.

    ak
     
    AnalogKid, Jan 7, 2017
    #5
  6. Looee

    Alec_t VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    395
    Location:
    Wales
    What opamp are you using to drive a 120V power line?
     
    Alec_t, Jan 7, 2017
    #6
  7. Looee

    tedstruk

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo Washington
    I thought all op amps were connected in parallel...
     
    tedstruk, Jan 8, 2017
    #7
  8. Looee

    AnalogKid VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Ohio - GMT-5
    Is that stereotyping?
     
    AnalogKid, Jan 8, 2017
    #8
  9. Looee

    davenn Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,948
    Likes Received:
    1,195
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    more bad/incorrect advice
     
    davenn, Jan 8, 2017
    #9
  10. Looee

    Audioguru VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    104
    In the United States your circuit is feeding the entire country's electricity grid. You need the power from millions of paralleled opamps to drive it. If you add a series inductor to isolate your electricity line at each end then you will need the power only from hundreds of opamps. Is your receiver sensitive?

    How do you prevent the 120VAC from destroying the low voltage outputs of the opamps?
     
    Audioguru, Jan 8, 2017
    #10
  11. Looee

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,522
    Likes Received:
    1,656
    Location:
    Mid way between Beijing and the Ronne Ice Shelf
    This is typically and commonly achieved by capacitively coupling your signal to the mains. The inductance of the mains is quite high at higher frequencies due to the transformers from which it is fed.

    I'm not sure if the exact requirements for driving these signals, but a quick Google should find them for you.

    Edit: search for "power line communication" (PLC), "Broadband over power line" (BPL), "Ethernet over power", and "carrier current signalling".
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2017
    (*steve*), Jan 8, 2017
    #11
  12. Looee

    BobK VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,047
    Likes Received:
    1,132
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    I have seen capacitors and transformers used for coupling a signal to mains.

    Bob
     
    BobK, Jan 8, 2017
    #12
  13. Looee

    AnalogKid VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Ohio - GMT-5
    The classic National Semiconductor app note circuit used a strange semi-resonant transformer that was available through distribution for a while. Both AM and FM "wireless" intercoms used some variation of it.

    ak
     
    AnalogKid, Jan 8, 2017
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. vead

    How to find out current in circuit?

    vead, Jul 25, 2016, in forum: Electronics Homework Help
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    400
    Ratch
    Jul 27, 2016
  2. Chengjun Li

    How to use a Side-Brazed Dual In-Line Ceramic Package

    Chengjun Li, Aug 9, 2016, in forum: General Electronics Chat
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    298
    shrtrnd
    Aug 10, 2016
  3. Alexsieg

    How do constant current loads work and how to make one

    Alexsieg, Sep 30, 2016, in forum: General Electronics Chat
    Replies:
    23
    Views:
    535
    (*steve*)
    Oct 21, 2016
  4. Alex Hamilton

    How to use an accelerometer in a circuit

    Alex Hamilton, Oct 9, 2016, in forum: Microcontrollers and Programming
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    213
    hevans1944
    Oct 9, 2016
  5. Curioushuman1

    How connect AC motor to mains?

    Curioushuman1, Nov 19, 2016, in forum: Circuit Help
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    149
    73's de Edd
    Nov 19, 2016
  6. Prohor
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    174
    Audioguru
    Nov 22, 2016
  7. Alpar
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    61
    Audioguru
    Dec 30, 2016
  8. Prohor

    How to connect tweeter with speaker, series or parallel?

    Prohor, Jan 1, 2017, in forum: General Electronics Chat
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    101
    hevans1944
    Jan 2, 2017
Loading...