How to connect op amps in parallel

Discussion in 'Circuit Help' started by Looee, Jan 7, 2017.

  1. Looee

    Looee

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    We are trying to put 5 different signals on a 120 volt power line. We are running each signal through an op amp to increase the amplitude. We connected the output of all the op amps together. However, this causes the amplitude of the signals to attenuate. Is there a way that we can connect all the signals together without any attenuation?
     
    Looee, Jan 7, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Looee

    AnalogKid

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,908
    Likes Received:
    531
    Location:
    Ohio - GMT-5
    Yes.

    ak
     
    AnalogKid, Jan 7, 2017
    #2
    Arouse1973 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Looee

    BobK

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,773
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    To be a little more helpful, lookup summing amplifier.

    Bob
     
    BobK, Jan 7, 2017
    #3
  4. Looee

    duke37

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4,717
    Likes Received:
    584
    Location:
    Derbyshire. UK
    You can sum with resistors to a common point. If you make this point at the -input of the op-amp, you will have a virtual earth amplifier. The current going into this common point will carry on through the feedback resistor and so will generate a polarity reversed voltage. One input will not affect any other input.
     
    duke37, Jan 7, 2017
    #4
  5. Looee

    AnalogKid

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,908
    Likes Received:
    531
    Location:
    Ohio - GMT-5
    Actually, I think my response was very helpful. It was carefully crafted to encapsulate all of the technical requirement in post #1.

    ak
     
    AnalogKid, Jan 7, 2017
    #5
  6. Looee

    Alec_t

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,087
    Likes Received:
    551
    Location:
    Wales
    What opamp are you using to drive a 120V power line?
     
    Alec_t, Jan 7, 2017
    #6
  7. Looee

    tedstruk

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Toledo Washington
    I thought all op amps were connected in parallel...
     
    tedstruk, Jan 8, 2017
    #7
  8. Looee

    AnalogKid

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,908
    Likes Received:
    531
    Location:
    Ohio - GMT-5
    Is that stereotyping?
     
    AnalogKid, Jan 8, 2017
    #8
  9. Looee

    davenn Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    12,269
    Likes Received:
    1,465
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    more bad/incorrect advice
     
    davenn, Jan 8, 2017
    #9
  10. Looee

    Audioguru

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,710
    Likes Received:
    397
    In the United States your circuit is feeding the entire country's electricity grid. You need the power from millions of paralleled opamps to drive it. If you add a series inductor to isolate your electricity line at each end then you will need the power only from hundreds of opamps. Is your receiver sensitive?

    How do you prevent the 120VAC from destroying the low voltage outputs of the opamps?
     
    Audioguru, Jan 8, 2017
    #10
  11. Looee

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    23,320
    Likes Received:
    2,131
    Location:
    Mid way between Beijing and the Ronne Ice Shelf
    This is typically and commonly achieved by capacitively coupling your signal to the mains. The inductance of the mains is quite high at higher frequencies due to the transformers from which it is fed.

    I'm not sure if the exact requirements for driving these signals, but a quick Google should find them for you.

    Edit: search for "power line communication" (PLC), "Broadband over power line" (BPL), "Ethernet over power", and "carrier current signalling".
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2017
    (*steve*), Jan 8, 2017
    #11
  12. Looee

    BobK

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,773
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    I have seen capacitors and transformers used for coupling a signal to mains.

    Bob
     
    BobK, Jan 8, 2017
    #12
  13. Looee

    AnalogKid

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,908
    Likes Received:
    531
    Location:
    Ohio - GMT-5
    The classic National Semiconductor app note circuit used a strange semi-resonant transformer that was available through distribution for a while. Both AM and FM "wireless" intercoms used some variation of it.

    ak
     
    AnalogKid, Jan 8, 2017
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.