Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How do I increase Voltage, USB extension cable is causing voltage drop.

red913

Mar 22, 2013
So my wife got me a USB extension cable to charge my phone, so I could sit in the center of the bed(it's a king) next to her when using the phone before bed. Cute idea and it seemed to work for awhile, but recently it's suffered such a voltage drop that the phone won't charge anymore on the extension cable.It will charge when just on the factory cable though. The app I got says without the cable, 3.7V, but with, 3.5. So is there a way to maintain the higher voltage? I'm still a novice in electronics, so not sure if there is anything I can do.

My first thoughts were a capacitor, but that would only work for a very short while. The voltage never goes high enough to "recharge" the cap. I know transformers will increase or decrease voltage without affecting power...but do they make them for something as small as .2V?

Not sure what other options there are...ideas would be appreciated. :)

poor mystic

Apr 8, 2011
:)
Hi Red
If a set-up that worked fine in the past no longer charges your phone, you'll need to test to find out what has changed.
The candidates are the transformer and the extension cable.
If the extension cable charges your phone from another transformer, your existing plug-pack might be faulty. Otherwise it's likely to be the extension cable.
(It sounds more like the transformer to me but testing makes better sense than jumping to conclusions)

red913

Mar 22, 2013
It's more likely the cable as I tried a different charger already and yielded the same result. But I'd still like to know, just for the sake of knowing, how would I go about increasing the voltage just a little bit?

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
You really don't want to increase the voltage on a USB lead .... very unwise
you are sure to accidentally one day plug it into something that cannot handle the extra
voltage and kill it

sort out your cabling problems

poor mystic

Apr 8, 2011