Maker Pro
Maker Pro

help with coupling components

jrb

Dec 22, 2012
I am fairly new to electronics and while spending a lot of time on various websites getting myself educated, I have yet to find a place that explains how to connect circuit components. Transistors and diodes ok, but ICS have me and the data sheets don't seem to help much when it comes to an actual circuit.

I have a basic knowledge, but in this case I am connecting an ATTiny85 AVR which is programmed to generate pulses being fed into an TDA7052 audio amplifier. Will just a capacitor work, and if so how do I choose a value. The output from ATTiny85 pin 6 is a 5 volt square wave. The TDA7052 has a fixed gain of 40db and an input impedance of 100k. Link to TDA7052 data sheet is here ftp://ftp.elektroda.net/pub/Aplikacje/ANALOG/TDA7052.PDF. The output of the ATTiny85 pin 6 is max 250ma. I would sincerely appreciate any advice in this matter as to any tutorials on circuit design and specifically any recommendation to couple the devices in the attached circuit. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• test.jpg
    test.jpg
    52.8 KB · Views: 171

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Yes, a capacitor there is probably appropriate. The value depends on the frequency of your signal.

If you have a capacitor id between 0,1uF and 1uF, I'd try that first.

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Hi jrb and welcome to the forums :)

The diagram on page 6 of the TDA7052 data sheet shows you how to use the device. See the two decoupling capacitors across the supply rails? You should have those in your design; they're needed for stability.

That diagram also shows you how to drive the input of the IC. Pin 3 should be tied to ground, as you have done, and pin 2 should be BIASED at ground voltage, using a resistor from pin 2 to ground. This resistor sets the DC voltage on pin 2 to 0V. You then need to couple the signal into pin 2 using a capacitor, which is called a coupling or DC blocking capacitor.