Maker Pro
Maker Pro

HELP: Solenoid valve Relay circuit with IR sensor

Dominicmark

Jun 4, 2015
Please help me troubleshoot the relay in this circuit.

I'm not an electronics engineer, just a distributor of sensor systems for flushes..

In this particular setup, my IR sensor is connected to my circuit board housing the relay unit and that to the solenoid valve. The sensor by means of relay is supposed to trigger the solenoid to open for a few seconds for flushing.

However in 75% of my units, the relay gets problematic and my engineer charges me a bomb to fix it.. I just need to understand how this particular circuit works and what's the relay chip here..

My electronics knowledge is minimal but am ready to read up and understand with any suggestions..

I look fwd to ur replies

Attachments

• IMG_20150604_180737.jpg
    IMG_20150604_180737.jpg
    250 KB · Views: 178

ADRT

Nov 25, 2014
In the red box is a micro controller. These are programmable controllers that can be used for any number of things. The program that is in the controller dictates how it is used. The brown box is a transformer used to take line voltage down to something the controller can handle probably anywhere from 5vdc to 9vdc. The white box is dip switches used to configure the auto flush most likely the delay possibly a couple of other things. These would be linked the the controller inputs. Blue box is a trim POT probably used to adjust the sensitivity of the IR sensor. Green box is an Optocoupler used to isolate the output of the controller from the line voltage to the little yellow box, a TRIAC likely, that actually fires the solenoid.

ADRT

Nov 25, 2014
Most of the components are easily replaceable, but if you damage the micro controller you would not be able to replace it without getting one from the manufacturer with the program loaded or be able to get a hold of the program and program them yourself.

Minder

Apr 24, 2015