Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help needed about ICL7135 pinout

Miguel Lopez

Jan 25, 2012
Hello

A friend of mine gave several MAXIM ICL7135cqi chips. I would like to experiment with these chips as they could be useful to build a good digital bench multimeter. The datasheets that I have found on the web, show the pinout of the dual in line package. but the ones that I have are of the Lead Plastic Chip Carrier type.

I have no experience with SMD components, so I need help to understand how is the pinout of these chips, which have pins on all four sides of the square.

Thanks in advance.

Miguel

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
This datasheet shows the LPCC pinout on page 12. As there is no different pin assignment given, the assignment of signals to pin numbers should be the same as for teh DIP version. The datasheet shows only pin 1 of the PLCC housing. Numbering is usually counterclockwise (top view).
I hope that helps.

Saludos,
Harald

Miguel Lopez

Jan 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your answers. I already had that datasheet from Maxim, but as I have never used SMD, I know nothing about it. There is always a first time for everything, so I think time has come.

I will prepare a small PCB for experimentation. I will let you know results.

Thanks

Miguel Lopez

Jan 25, 2012
Thank you for that info, but I need to say that I never open holes on the PCBs. I have always surface-mounted the components on my PCBs. (See pictures)

In the beginning, it was due to the lack of proper drill bits to do it, now I think that it is easier to mount the components on the surface, than openning holes (too much work and time consumming)

And it won't be using SMD components that I will begin openning holes, don't you think? :)

Attachments

• resized_Front.jpg
    resized_Front.jpg
    52.9 KB · Views: 116
  • resized_DSCN2994.JPG
    resized_DSCN2994.JPG
    51.3 KB · Views: 89
Last edited:

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011