Help how to calculate a LED wall 10 M2

Discussion in 'LEDs and Optoelectronics' started by Rmschtt, Apr 15, 2018 at 10:18 PM.

  1. Rmschtt

    Rmschtt

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3
    Somebody can help solve my problem?
    Sorry if i use not the right terms but as an amateur with very basic knowledge i do my best.

    I want to calculate a 10 ㎡ LED wall and how to configure ( powerwise) 4 panels !! make 1 ㎡.
    The primary power source ( main?) is 230 Volt 50 Hz to the power adapter output 5V to the LED panel.( every tile has its own poweradapter)
    The given Power Consumption Max800W/㎡ Average:400W/㎡
    When i calculate the Ampere ( W=VxA ) my result is a very high Amperage 800=5XA, A=800/5=160
    So if i use 10M2 LED Tiles ( 40 pieces) the Amperage current will be enormous. What I am doing wrong?
    What to do bring this down to normal Ampere ranges or is my calculation not right.
    And if not use other equipment for example big UPC in front connected tot the LED input?
    Thank you in advance
    Rob

    Screen Area 10㎡
    Brightness ≥1200cd/㎡
    Pixel Density 65536dots/m2
    Driving Method 1/16 scan constant current
    Brightness Control Red,Green and Blue 4096 Grade/Each
    Fresh requency ≥1980Hz
    Frame Frequency 50Hz
    Input Voltage AC220V/50Hz
    Power Consumption Max800W/㎡ Average:400W/㎡
    Earth Leakage Current <3mA
    Temperature-operating ﹣35℃~50℃
    Humidity-operating 10%~95%
    Controlling system Nova(Sending Card,Receiving Cards and Hubs)
     
    Rmschtt, Apr 15, 2018 at 10:18 PM
    #1
    RAJ_1256 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. Rmschtt

    kellys_eye

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,799
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    West Coast, Scotland
    If the module is stated to be 800W then the supply (assuming it is entirely 5V driven) would indeed be rated at 160A.

    You could drive the LEDs in a different fashion - higher voltage - to reduce the amperage but it'll always consume 800W no matter what combination of V and I you decide to use.

    You can also break the single modules down into even smaller 'blocks' i.e each 1m2 module could be made from 16 (in a 4x4 arrangement) smaller modules, each having a PSU rated at 5V/10A.
     
    kellys_eye, Apr 15, 2018 at 10:47 PM
    #2
    RAJ_1256 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Rmschtt

    Rmschtt

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok , the first part i understand. the usage 800 W will be constant ( so will the electricty bill :):))
    What do i need on primary side? would 3 fase 380 V reduce the amperage? to a managable level?
    The powersupply must be hudge, and how would this infrastructure look like, like i asked, can UPC's between the primary powersuply en the 5 V adapter be a solution?
     
    Rmschtt, Apr 15, 2018 at 10:54 PM
    #3
    RAJ_1256 likes this.
  4. Rmschtt

    kellys_eye

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,799
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    West Coast, Scotland
    If you think about modern PC's and the power modules fitted to them they can easily supply 800W for the graphics-hungry type of PC yet the 'box' that makes up the PSU is only some 6"x4"x4"..... such is 'switched-mode' technology.

    You can't reduce the power so you're stuck with it. Most domestic household power outlets can deliver 3kW so not normally a problem.

    If you need more than 3kW then it's usual - in a domestic situation - to have a separate circuit wired in and the appropriate higher capacity connection fitted. You could, in theory, take 80A from a 240V supply which is approaching 20kW..... even in a 'normal' home.
     
    kellys_eye, Apr 15, 2018 at 10:59 PM
    #4
    RAJ_1256 likes this.
  5. Rmschtt

    Rmschtt

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thank you again:
    So to my understanding, i need 2 seperate 230 V circuits secured by 80 Amp each or go higher with the Voltage? because it is not a houshold situation! Is there a formula i can use to calculate the whole system ?
    So that will be 40 tiles ( 10 M2) 800 Watss/ per M2, What will be the desired layout in total, it will be possible my whole LED wall will be extended to 142 M2 so more than a hundred tiles more.
     
    Rmschtt, Apr 15, 2018 at 11:10 PM
    #5
    RAJ_1256 likes this.
  6. Rmschtt

    kellys_eye

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,799
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    West Coast, Scotland
    For 10m2 and a power consumption of 800W/m2 this equates to a total consumption of 8000W - easily possible via a standard domestic supply (actually, that really depends on your local situation - it varies country-to-country).

    142m2 would mean 113,600W (113kW) an enormous amount and such a device would generally have it's own generator system (gasoline or diesel) with the appropriately rated output. You are talking 'serious' power requirements here..... is this a real probability or just speculative though process?
     
    kellys_eye, Apr 16, 2018 at 12:30 AM
    #6
    RAJ_1256 likes this.
  7. Rmschtt

    WHONOES

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    From the mains supply aspect you will only need to draw a maximum (with some headroom) of 4.5A at 230V. Easily achievable.
    See the attached link. There are a number of ready made supplies for you exact purpose.
    http://www.0meter.com/products?category=7
     
    WHONOES, Apr 16, 2018 at 10:52 AM
    #7
    RAJ_1256 likes this.
  8. Rmschtt

    kellys_eye

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,799
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    West Coast, Scotland
    For 1m2.....

    The basic panel size is 10m2 and the OP is also talking about one that is 142m2...:eek:
     
    kellys_eye, Apr 16, 2018 at 3:19 PM
    #8
    RAJ_1256 likes this.
  9. Rmschtt

    WHONOES

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    The current draw mentioned is from the mains. Which means that just over 1kW is available at 230V which should be enough for his 800W panel.
    Rmschtt seems to have misunderstood what was said and thinks that he needs to be able to draw more than 80A from his mains supply.
     
    WHONOES, Apr 16, 2018 at 3:43 PM
    #9
    RAJ_1256 likes this.
  10. Rmschtt

    kellys_eye

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,799
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    West Coast, Scotland
    800W per 1m2

    (my bold/underline)

    10m2 means 10 x 800W = 8kW = 33A from a 'domestic' outlet?

    You can, for sure, get a 40A circuit fitted (showers use this, some use 63A) but there was also a mention of 142m2 display........ :eek:
     
    kellys_eye, Apr 16, 2018 at 10:15 PM
    #10
    RAJ_1256 likes this.
  11. Rmschtt

    BobK

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,996
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    Do you have any idea how much light that will put out? Are you trying to blind someone?

    A wall with 8000W of LED lighting is ridiculous. 80W would light any reasonable sized room brightly. 800W would be sunglasses time. 8000W -- forget it.

    Edit to add: A typical room in my house is lit by 2 or 3 8 Watt LED bulbs.

    Edit 2: And I neglected the heat. A space heater is typically 1500W. What do you think 8000W is going to do?

    Bob
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2018 at 1:45 AM
    BobK, Apr 17, 2018 at 1:38 AM
    #11
    RAJ_1256 likes this.
  12. Rmschtt

    kellys_eye

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,799
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    West Coast, Scotland
    I suspect the 'wall' is an industrial device intended for outdoor displaying. If the OP thinks they can use this indoors the perhaps they are seeking a quick sun tan as they view!
     
    kellys_eye, Apr 17, 2018 at 10:38 AM
    #12
    RAJ_1256 likes this.
  13. Rmschtt

    rtuydhb

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you show the pictures??
     
    rtuydhb, Apr 19, 2018 at 5:29 PM
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.