Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help fixing TV Panasonic TX-P42UT30E

Cevi

May 27, 2016
Hi guys. I finally found time to try to repair my sister's Plasma TV which was fried after electricity drop. The TV is totally dead without the standby light turning on.
I got it opened and realized that I don't get those 5V on the standby pin.
I can't find datasheet for the power supply so It's kind of difficult for me to trace back the voltages.
The main fuses are OK since there is high current flowing through the board. I have basic knowledge of electronics so I'll do my best to follow the instructions if any.
- The model of the TV is: Panasonic TX-P42UT30E
- The model of the PSU is: NOAE6KK00008
This is the PSU BTW (Not the actual I got, just for reference)
Thanks.

Attachments

• NOAE6KK00008.JPG
    NOAE6KK00008.JPG
    132 KB · Views: 129

Cevi

May 27, 2016
Can we see a picture of the genuine article?

It may be possible to identify a fault from a close up image.
Here is a close up from the actual board. If you can notice above the board is the rectifier diode which I found to be faulty. The model of the diode is RM11C. Since I didn't had the exact model I've used the RL207 which has higher current and slight different peak. Even after this I still don't get those 5V on the stb pin. Since I am new in the TV repair world I guess I can get these 5V with the board detached from the TV right?
WP_20171028_20_13_26_Pro.jpg WP_20171028_20_14_02_Pro.jpg

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
Yeah, without the schematic this isn't going to be easy....

All I can suggest is a methodical approach. Starting at the AC input, the input filter components (where a transient absorber may have popped) then to the main rectification and smoothing.

A mains supply surge 'shouldn't' get past the input stages so we need to identify those parts and test there first.