Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Hacking Nodal and Loop Analysis

Oliver Morland

Jan 9, 2017
Would love it if someone could give me some general advice on this question:
How do you decide whether its best to perform a loop analysis, or a nodal analysis on a circuit problem?
I'm a first year EEE student at University Of Sheffield.

Ratch

Mar 10, 2013
Would love it if someone could give me some general advice on this question:
How do you decide whether its best to perform a loop analysis, or a nodal analysis on a circuit problem?
I'm a first year EEE student at University Of Sheffield.

Easy. Count the number of loops and nodes. Then use whatever is the smallest number. Each loop or node takes an equation, so fewer equations is easier.

Ratch

OBW0549

Jul 5, 2016
Would love it if someone could give me some general advice on this question: How do you decide whether its best to perform a loop analysis, or a nodal analysis on a circuit problem?
It's largely a matter of preference; go with whichever method seems most intuitive and straightforward.

Laplace

Apr 4, 2010