Getting Signal Voltage From Source Power

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by tedstruk, Aug 22, 2017.

  1. tedstruk

    tedstruk

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Toledo Washington
    I used to know how to make this conversion from source power ie. 12v to signal voltage, but I have forgotten what signal is. its like 1 ohm at 1v or something like that...
    can anyone help me?(ha ha ha)
     
    tedstruk, Aug 22, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. tedstruk

    Arouse1973 Adam

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5,111
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    Location:
    Cornwall U.K
    Do you mean the power equation P = I*V ?
     
    Arouse1973, Aug 22, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. tedstruk

    tedstruk

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Toledo Washington
    that might be it.... but thats watts. and I think signal is like 1millivolts@1 watt?
    or 1 millivolt @ 1kohms? anyway I remember it was millivolts, but I can't remember the other part.
    signal is generally used as power for circuits like radio sets, comparators and is used as a base for all other math in the circuit...

    blank slates are the cause of every great problem....
    Just look at Einstien.
     
    tedstruk, Aug 23, 2017
    #3
  4. tedstruk

    kellys_eye

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,456
    Likes Received:
    630
    Location:
    West Coast, Scotland
    0dBm - 1 milliwatt
     
    kellys_eye, Aug 23, 2017
    #4
  5. tedstruk

    davenn Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    12,371
    Likes Received:
    1,497
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    have absolutely no idea what you mean ????
     
    davenn, Aug 24, 2017
    #5
  6. tedstruk

    kellys_eye

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,456
    Likes Received:
    630
    Location:
    West Coast, Scotland
    1A = 1V dropped across 1Ω ???
     
    kellys_eye, Aug 24, 2017
    #6
  7. tedstruk

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    23,562
    Likes Received:
    2,180
    Location:
    Mid way between Beijing and the Ronne Ice Shelf
    Not until you ask a question we can understand.
     
    (*steve*), Aug 24, 2017
    #7
    Arouse1973 likes this.
  8. tedstruk

    tedstruk

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Toledo Washington
    0 dBm I think thats it.
    1 milliwatt..
    that is the point at which wattage is not capable of creating exponential heat....
    I think... Its been along long time since I did any electronics!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 25, 2017
    tedstruk, Aug 25, 2017
    #8
  9. tedstruk

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    23,562
    Likes Received:
    2,180
    Location:
    Mid way between Beijing and the Ronne Ice Shelf
    No it's just a reference point.

    The expenditure of power, no matter how small, can cause heating.
     
    (*steve*), Aug 25, 2017
    #9
  10. tedstruk

    kellys_eye

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,456
    Likes Received:
    630
    Location:
    West Coast, Scotland
    ... don't you mean 'ever'??
     
    kellys_eye, Aug 25, 2017
    #10
    Arouse1973 likes this.
  11. tedstruk

    BobK

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,867
    Likes Received:
    1,401
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    What do you mean? He did electronics and he has the smoke to prove it!

    Bob
     
    BobK, Aug 26, 2017
    #11
    davenn and Arouse1973 like this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.