Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Function Generators Role and Effect

Lawrenciumbc

Nov 2, 2015
I am new to electronics and just trying to get my head around the use of function generators. I understand that they are used in labs to generate signals for testing, but are they more like a microphone for example which picks up an audio wave and sends it into a circuit (i.e. nothing to do with power) or are they more like a low power supply for AC?

My question is more about how I should think of them within a circuit and whether the peak to peak voltage is just additional voltage into the circuit on top of my power supply.

The particular context is that I am learning about transistor biasing (for a LiFi transmitter) and I have a 5V VCC going into the circuit at the collector of my transistor (via an LED which is also voltage divided to the base too) and then a function generator going to the base which supplies a wave (5Vpk) which will just switch the transistor on and off and I am confused as to whether and the how the peak to peak voltage contributes to the circuit.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
A function generator is for generating a signal for testing. It is not supposed to supply much in the way of power.

You are using it correctly to apply to the base of the transistor, though hopefully this is through a resistor since the BE junction acts just like a diode and does not limit the current. And 5V is a bit high for a signal to an amplifier, your amp cannot put out more than 5V so the signal should be much smaller than that.

Bob

Lawrenciumbc

Nov 2, 2015
Ok, so essentially the function generator will increase the voltage in the circuit by whatever its peak voltage setting is? e.g. hypothetically, if I have a voltage divider from my VCC channeling 0.5V to my base and then have 5V coming in on the the FG, then my voltage to the base would be the 0.5 + 5?