Maker Pro
Maker Pro

electrolytic capacitor polarity help

Pietro

Aug 10, 2015
Hi

I'm new to electronics and I just came across a circuit that i'm trying to make sense of. Here's a simle circuit with an electrolytic capacitor but it is connected with the polarity inverted. Can anyone explain please?

circuit.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Hi Davenn

Thanks for your reply. is is under 1000 pixels and under 100kb but I'm unable to upload any images. I get an error saying "There was a problem uploading your file."

dunno what's going on, I will talk to forum owner .... I cant even upload one of my own files
will try to get sorted asap :)

EDIT
OK all sorted out and I have uploaded it to your original post
and done a tidy up of the thread

Dave

Last edited:

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
This looks to me to be a mutivibrator (oscillator). Collector to base, collector to base.
The emitter/base junction of the PNP transistor acts as a rectifier to get the polarity right.

TedA

Sep 26, 2011
You are correct, the electrolytic capacitor does see reverse voltage for part of the time during each cycle. The maximum reverse voltage across the capacitor will be limited by the 2N3906 Vbe as this transistor begins to turn on. Under 0.7V at room temperature.

During the time the NPN transistor is on, the capacitor will see a normal polarity voltage across it, at least as soon as it has discharged back through zero volts.

The reverse voltage on the capacitor is not the only thing about this circuit that's not so good. Yet it might work well enough, depending on what you want it to do.

The saving grace is that the power supply voltage is so low.

Have you built one up? Does it work?

What color is your LED?

The circuit's operation is very dependent on the characteristics of the transistors, the LED, the capacitor, and even the battery. The characteristics of these devices all vary from unit to unit and over temperature.