Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Driving many LEDs with a Single Arduino Uno?

Noura

May 13, 2014
Hello all,

I'm trying to build a light-up umbrella with RGB leds. I want them to transition colors simultaneously. I thought that driving them with Arduino would be a good choice, but I'm worried that since I was going to wire them in parallel and since there will be many leds that the 5V will not provide enough current. Is that reasonable?

BTW, my reason for choosing a parallel circuit was to avoid christmas light frustrations, as in one going out and messing up the whole thing. Is that valid with leds or, since their lifespan is so long, should I cut my losses and wire in series?

I'm very new to all of this so this might be totally noobish but I will appreciate any help in clearing this up.

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Did you read the entry "Got a question about driving LEDs?" in the ressources section?

Apart from the LEDs you will need current limiting resistors.
For a series connection, you have to take into account the operating voltage of the RGB LEDs.
How much current you can draw from your 5V source depemnds on the power supply. The ardujino's own 5V regulator is surely limited (I can#t say to how many milliamperes). If you use an external 5V supply, the current is limited by the supply only (see ratings of the supply).

Again: read the above entry first.

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Normally you would wire LEDs in series strings, and put the strings in parallel, and use a higher voltage, e.g. 12V. But you can't do that with RGB LEDs unless they have six pins, i.e. you can get access to both ends of each LED independently.

RGB LEDs normally have four pins - one pin for each colour, and a common pin, for the other side of all three colours. They are available with the anodes commoned together ("common anode RGB LED") or with the cathodes commoned together ("common cathode RGB LED").