Maker Pro
Maker Pro

DIY HELP : Multi touch switch for house lights

harry4774

Jul 17, 2018
Hello Everyone,

I have seen that we can make a touch sensitive switch using the TTP223 or TTP224 Module but most of the instructables show you using them with an Arduino and on small LEDs. I was thinking of using the same module to act as a substitute for the regular switch for lighting in our homes without an Arduino. However since I'm new to this, I don't know if this can be achieved or not. Additionally I have read in the documentation of the TTP223 that the module supports two types of operating modes one is a momentary switch and the other one is the toggle mode. But I haven't seen any instructions on how to achieve the toggle switch mode. Request your help in getting this to work the way I want them to work.

Thanks

dave9

Mar 5, 2017
Toggle uses a different TOG pin (see the datasheet). The output would triggler a relay, mechanical or solid state. If the output isn't enough to trigger that, you'd have the output driving the base of a transistor with power input switched by it to drive the relay.

harry4774

Jul 17, 2018
Toggle uses a different TOG pin (see the datasheet). The output would triggler a relay, mechanical or solid state. If the output isn't enough to trigger that, you'd have the output driving the base of a transistor with power input switched by it to drive the relay.
Thanks for your update Dave. Like I said I'm new to these topics and really would like to understand how to connect them together. I will be using the most slimmest and the most reliable relay available. Additionally this would be connected to 220/240 volts AC. . Would really like to understand how all the components are connected. How does the jumper setting work to enable the toggle mode. Thanks again.

dave9

Mar 5, 2017