Dialup issues

Discussion in 'Announcements, Suggestions & Feedback' started by 12vdc, Apr 13, 2018.

  1. 12vdc

    12vdc

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    I visit often but due to my dial-up hell connection i cannot post replies.
    I have been told by almost every website that dial-up is for losers.
    I was able to post here years ago but something changed (not on my end)
    What ever happened to plain HTML boards?
    Oh they went the way of dial-up.
    (this is posted from a high speed computer, not home)
     
    12vdc, Apr 13, 2018
    #1
  2. 12vdc

    Tha fios agaibh

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,685
    Likes Received:
    564
    The real loosers are the schmucks like me paying for high speed data at home plus unlimited data plan on our phones.
     
    Tha fios agaibh, Apr 13, 2018
    #2
  3. 12vdc

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    410
    Location:
    UK
    Hi @12vdc :)

    We upgraded the forum software a couple of years back, which may mean that there is now just too much data to load on each page for it to work smoothly. Replies should work ok (not sure why they wouldn't, unless you've disabled Javascript and perhaps the reply feature needs that), but it may just take a long time.

    The only thing I can think of that may help is to get a browser specifically optimised for low-speed connections.

    Do you get cell phone reception near you? I guess you've already looked in to alternatives though!
     
    Ian, Apr 13, 2018
    #3
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
There are no similar threads yet.
Loading...