Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Designing a Time Delayed Relay

chopnhack

Apr 28, 2014
Hello all, I would like to say firstly that I have limited electronics background. I can solder and read schematics to some degree and on occasion complete a print to a project. I can sometimes troubleshoot, but generally need guidance to do this with any proficiency. Now with that out of the way, I want you to descend with me into lunacy as I attempt to make something!

Goal:
I am trying to switch a 110VAC (10.8A per spec sheet) inductive load "on" when triggered by a 220VAC (1.5 HP) inductive load. I would also like to have the 110V load run for about 30 seconds after the 220V load ceases. This is for hobby woodworking equipment that is used weekly.

What I Found:
I perused the SSR but found them to be cost prohibitive and I didn't find anything above 6A. In my searches I found that a NOTO mechanical relay would be my best option, allowing for both the load capacity and time delay features, however, the one I looked at was well over $300!

Next Step:
From here I am looking for some guidance in how I should approach this design. Should I first spec out a mechanical relay (which is much cheaper) and then build a timing circuit around it? I have attached a crude block diagram of what I am currently thinking of.

To clarify the diagram: The shaded lines are switched outputs from the relays and timer. L1 is my trigger input, when that machine is running, the 220v will flow through the N.O. relay energizing it. When that latches, L2, 110v will flow through the relay to the motor and the unit will run. The N.C. relay portion of the diagram is not in play as the relay is energized keeping the contacts open. When the 220v device is turned off, the N.C. relay actuates allowing the timer circuit to begin and keeps the motor running for the preset time.

Concerns: