Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Decoupling capacitors

Madmicra

Feb 14, 2017
Hi, I'm new at electronics, more than a newbie actually, but pretty interested to know more in the field.
I'm currently struggling to understand the proper function of a decoupling or bypass capacitor.
I know how it is suppose to work: you have, say, an IC that is powered by 5V and you want a clean no
ripple power source. Capacitors tend to divert high frequencies away, as they oppose very little resistance (reactance)
to such signals.

But my question is this: in terms of Kirchhoff voltage law (KVL), where in one close branch the sum of voltages drops
are equal to voltage gains, and knowing that in this case Vc should eliminate the ripple making Vc (voltage across capacitor) almost equal to the DC component (5V), where can you find the ripple signal if there is no other component in this circuit?

I'm using superposition theorem to analyse the input signal as the sum of a pure DC component and another signal, the ripple. The DC component analysis is straight forward...
it appears in capacitor leads... but regarding the ripple I do not know were it goes and how to process it under KVL.

d.png
Besides that, how come Vout is different from Vin if they are connected to the same node, assuming wires have no resistance?

I'm sure I'm making some kind of an huge confusion here... I already know how to use and the purpose of decoupling capacitors but I really
want to comprehend it in terms of more formal circuit analysis, like the observation of Kirchhoff laws.

Can you help me here?

Thanks!!

Regards

Jorge

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
In theory, theory is no different to practice. In practice it is.

KVL assumes that connections to nodes have zero resistance or inductance. In practice there are stray resistances, inductance and capacitances which have a real effect.