Maker Pro
Maker Pro

DC to DC converter on wind turbine system.

fishinghat

Sep 3, 2018
I hope I am posting this in the right spot.

First of all I am not an electrical engineer. I do have a degree in chemistry and a Master's in Environmental Engineering which means I know nothing about electrical so be patient with me.

Situation...

I have 3 small home made wind turbines.

They can individually reach 12 volts or more when winds are very high but they are usually putting out 3 to 9 volts at 0.3 to 2 amps.

Inorder to increase the output I put on a boost converter rated at 3 to 35 input to 3 to 35 volts output and no more than 6 amps. So far so good.

Originally I had two turbines on line at the same time feeding to the dc to dc converter and then to my battery bank. The converter would kick on around 4.5 volts and begin supplying power to the battery banks. As the incoming voltage increased the outgoing voltage stayed at my set point of 12.5. Great.

Now comes the confusion.

1) I was told not to do it that way as you will only receive power from the most powerful turbine which will block the signal from the weaker turbine. Is that true or false?

2) So I bought 2 more dc to dc converters with the same specs and set them to 12.5 volts each. I put one on each wind turbine line before the lines combine and of course a diode right after the dc to dc converter. To my surprise the incoming voltage was always the same as the output voltage if they were attached to the battery bank. I contacted the ,manufacturer and he said my incoming power was below the minimum watt rating. When I asked them what the minimum watts for the unit to begin converting to the 12.5 set point he stated he didn't know but I was certainly below that. For real!!?? Any comments?