Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Clamping Diodes

juantravel

May 14, 2010
I'm new to electronics and I'm trying to understand how do diodes work as voltage limiters. Ive seen schematics that have two diodes with one p region facing the input and another with n regions facing the 0v (negative).

0v
|
__|__
/ \
/ \ diode
/___\
|
__input______|______________output
|
__|__
/\
/ \
/___\
|
|
0v

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Your diagram got little broken. But the purpose is to clip the input signal to approx 0.7 volts either side of 0v.

This is typically done where the signal is expected to be small in amplitude (say no more than 0.2 V RMS) to prevent overload to the following stages if an unexpected spike appears on the input.

Another common thing you'll see is diodes to either supply rail. This is used to limit the input voltage to a diode drop more than the supply rail. This is used to protect inputs from excessive voltages.

juantravel

May 14, 2010

I do understand that the two diodes are set up to clip the voltage to .7 which is the voltage needed for the electrons to flow over the junction in silicon. What characteristic of the diode allows that. I'm guessing that if a input is higher then .7 it causes and avalanche effect... correct? but if that is the case wouldn't that just fry the diode and cause the high voltage to go into the amp circuit. The circuit I was looking at had a op-amp. The input had 2 diodes one with n type to the input and another with the p type to the input. Then the input continued to the op amp.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
It depends on the impedance of the input signal. The impedance acts like a series resistance and limits the current. Even small signal diodes can handle currents of many tens to several hundreds on mA.

juantravel

May 14, 2010