Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Changing a sanyo plv-z5 bulb to an LED

rmkscrambler

Mar 22, 2011
Hi I have been thinking about trying to modify my sanyo plv-z5 projector to run an LED instead of a HID bulb.
I am a machinist so making things fit wont be a problem, but I know just enough about electronics to get me in trouble.

So hears what I have so far. I have found a 50W LED that should work for what I need it is the right size to fit in the lamp cradle, it has a 6000K color spectrum and is rated at 3500LM.
The projector is only 1100LM but I figure their is some loss from the bulb to the screen. The LED comes with a power supply that has an input voltage rating of 110V-265Vac.

The projector had an HID bulb which means it has a ballast to run the bulb, to the best of my understanding the ballast provides a "375V ?" starting pulse and then runs at "15v?" once the bulb is lit. So I need to find a way to either create a circuit that could use the current power supply
and drive the LED or bypass the ballast in a way that the projector would still think the HID bulb is lit. If I just use an alternate power source the projector will throw a bulb error and shut down.

I found a service manual with schematics at this site
section 7 http://www.eserviceinfo.com/download.php?fileid=42273
section 12 http://www.eserviceinfo.com/download.php?fileid=42278

section 7 and 12 appear to be the most relevant but then I'm not the best at reading electrical diagrams.

So I guess I need to know if this project even sounds do able I don't mind doing research and learning but I may need someone with a better understanding of circuitry to point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Last edited:

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
interesting project.