Capacitor help

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Chris a, Jan 12, 2018 at 9:54 PM.

  1. Chris a

    Chris a

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    20180112_105643.jpg 20180112_105643.jpg
    Anyone have an idea of where to get that capacitor shown? Marcon is the manuf.
     
    Chris a, Jan 12, 2018 at 9:54 PM
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Chris a

    Minder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,322
    Likes Received:
    473
    Location:
    Canadian Midwest
    My choice in N.A. is DigiKey.
    There should be quite a few selections on their site.
    If you notice, there is a black bar at one end, this is the ground or chassis connection end.
    Looks like it may be a suppression cap.
    M.
     
    Minder, Jan 12, 2018 at 10:05 PM
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Chris a

    davenn Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    12,269
    Likes Received:
    1,465
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    davenn, Jan 12, 2018 at 10:05 PM
    #3
  4. Chris a

    Chris a

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you
     
    Chris a, Jan 12, 2018 at 10:46 PM
    #4
  5. Chris a

    AnalogKid

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,908
    Likes Received:
    531
    Location:
    Ohio - GMT-5
    Interesting assembly. What is it?

    ak
     
    AnalogKid, Jan 12, 2018 at 11:14 PM
    #5
  6. Chris a

    Chris a

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's the base assembly for an Olympus phase contrast microscope. It was impressive when the capacitor let the smoke out of it. Scared the guy using the scope pretty good.
     
    Chris a, Jan 12, 2018 at 11:57 PM
    #6
    Arouse1973 likes this.
  7. Chris a

    AnalogKid

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,908
    Likes Received:
    531
    Location:
    Ohio - GMT-5
    That capacitor type doesn't look particularly new to me. If you have a clear idea of its use, application, applied voltage, etc. there probably is a more reliable part to use.

    ak
     
    AnalogKid, Jan 13, 2018 at 1:00 AM
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.