Maker Pro
Maker Pro

can IR sensor be changed?

spahr50cal

May 26, 2017
i have 2 remotes/devices and they interfer with each other can one be changed? im doing a pc mod i have a car stereo pioneer DEH-X1910UB and now i added rbg lights with a remote control that have a remote https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06XSFX613/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
the seonsor on the stereo remote interfere with the rbg leds, can i change the IR sensors on the RGB lights. i have a old tv and remote i could steal it from or is there a specific type i should use. please note im just starting to learn about and solder circuits for fun but im a fast learner so please explain a little
would somthing like this work https://www.amazon.com/AIRSUNNY-thr...UTF8&qid=1495825363&sr=8-3&keywords=ir+sensor

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
Nobody knows the IR modulation frequency of the cheap Chinese striplights. It might be the same 38kHz frequency as the cheap Chinese IR emitter and receiver.
Nobody know if the cheap Chinese IR emitter and receiver will fit and work in the striplights product.

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
One device says its modulating frequency is 38kHz, not a channel number. The other device says its remote has a channel number, not the modulating frequency. Apples and oranges are not the same. The manufacturers never thought that two or more remote devices will interfere with each other.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
Audioguro: unless you are rather unusual, you probably have and audio video setup using multiple remotes, and probably they all work at 38KHz. They don't interfere because different digital coding is used on all of them and they respond only to the valid codes for the device. I think the problem here is that one of the remotes, probably the LED strip one is using a very simple protocol with not redundancy, that will interpret anything it sees as a valid command.

Bob

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016