Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Building a regulator/rectifier for a motorcycle

Monkleys

Oct 31, 2016
I hope this is in the right forum. This looks about right.

Okay so I've bought an old motorcyle that I've started to build up from scratch, and finally, I've made it to the eletronics.
I've posted on a few other forums looking for some help with this project as I have little experience with eletronics, I can pretty much solder things together.

I'll provide a diagram and anything else that might be necessary. As well as everything I've learned so far.

I'm going to start off with the wiring diagram for my motorcycle, it's a yamaha xt350.

Okay, and here is some background to my problem.

So recently I bought an XT350 which pretty much starts and runs perfectly. With only one small major problem, its eletrical system, surprise!

Okay so, the headlights never worked, that's problem one. Problem two, the battery never charged. Oh, it didn't come with a battery.

Naturally, I bought a battery, plugged it in, with a bit of wiring, fixing the connectors, getting some rust off the switches(she was neglected for a good year). I managed to get the turn signals, odometer lights, tail light and horn to run off the battery, as it was wired originally. Though, the battery never got recharged from the magneto, I jumped past the rectifier/regualtor because the headlight wasn't working either.

I opened up the flywheel, found the charging coil disconnected from one of the poles(It's very thin wire) and the lighting coil has a small cut across it shorting the connections together, as well as a few fried wires. I unwound the lighting coil, just until the cuts, soldered on a fresh piece and rewound, then fixed the charging coils connector, and any fried wires. I put it all back together, and it worked, somewhat. So the lighting coil should've given me 0.39 ohms, I get 0.8 ohms. I used the same wire, don't judge me, I tried without breaking it further.