Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Building a cassette interface for z80 SBC, from schematic

Joe Lyman

Dec 19, 2017
I'm attempting to build a cassette interface for a simple z80 SBC based on a schematic I found online. The z80 is built and working properly, and the cassette interface is built but not quite working properly. Because the creators of these designs are busy, I figured I'd jump into an online community to see if I could get any hints on what to try next in my quest to add simple mass storage to my SBC.

Before I start in, I should note that I'm not entirely "new" to electronics, but I am very inexperienced. I am a ham radio operator, an avid unix user, and a lover of computers and technology; but I've never really gotten into electronics until recently. Electronics as a hobby started, for me, with the idea of building a z80 computer. I love many things that are represented in such an activity. Take whatever I say with a grain of salt; I'm still learning.

The circuit is simple enough, and the author has described it's functionality in their post linked above. It takes serial data, at TTL levels, and converts it into sound. Then it takes that sound- or a recording of that sound- and converts it back into serial data at TTL levels. My build of that circuit does turn serial data into sound (via a USB->TTL cable that I use for other projects,) but when taking those same sounds in, produces no output (kind of; read on.)

I own a simple, cheap oscilloscope of sorts, the DS0138. I've used (learning as I went) to look at all of the parts of this build, as it is attempting to function. I used it to dial in the POTs in this design, so that the Schmitt trigger would operate as intended. I checked the triggers on the 555 timers, to make sure that they were working.