Best way to detect what power source is connected?

Discussion in 'Circuit Help' started by KiwiSteve, Dec 30, 2016.

  1. KiwiSteve

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    7,196
    Likes Received:
    1,188
    Location:
    Germany-Europe-Earth-Sol System-Milky Way-Laniakea
    Principally not a bad idea but...
    However if you put fuses in series, you need to observe some rule (see e.g. here, page 10).
    In your setup I would not put a fuse on the main bus.
     
    Harald Kapp, Jan 10, 2017
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. KiwiSteve

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    22,454
    Likes Received:
    1,869
    Location:
    Mid way between Beijing and the Ronne Ice Shelf
    You've fine to the effort of having "perfect diodes", adding the fuses will put back some of that voltage drop.

    This is even worse if you're considering polyfuses.
     
    (*steve*), Jan 10, 2017
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. KiwiSteve

    KiwiSteve

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    One more question if I may...

    Would using a op-amp or comparator on the FET gate work just as well? I'm needing to send the signal to a micro-controller so it doesn't need to be driving current.

    Steve
     
    KiwiSteve, Jan 13, 2017
    #23
  4. KiwiSteve

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    22,454
    Likes Received:
    1,869
    Location:
    Mid way between Beijing and the Ronne Ice Shelf
    It's a tricky problem because the gate voltage is driven higher than any supply rail in the circuit
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2017
    (*steve*), Jan 13, 2017
    #24
  5. KiwiSteve

    KiwiSteve

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure what is meant by "sky rail", that's a term I've not heard before. Couldn't I use a voltage divider?
     
    KiwiSteve, Jan 14, 2017
    #25
  6. KiwiSteve

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    22,454
    Likes Received:
    1,869
    Location:
    Mid way between Beijing and the Ronne Ice Shelf
    Sky == Supply when you get but by autocorrect.

    And but == hit

    Aaaaagh!

    A voltage divider will load down the voltage which is supplied by a low current boost circuit. Not a good idea in this case.

    I'm thinking a P Channel jfet might be the answer.
     
    (*steve*), Jan 14, 2017
    #26
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. gwingatetx

    What is this component and what is the value?

    gwingatetx, Jun 18, 2016, in forum: Electronics Repair
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    722
    Craig
    Jan 24, 2017
  2. support2
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    445
    Robert_fay
    Jun 15, 2017
  3. Murkeyside Exile

    Is it possible to limit voltage going to a telephone?

    Murkeyside Exile, Aug 19, 2016, in forum: General Electronics Chat
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    383
    73's de Edd
    Aug 19, 2016
  4. Yousef Musawa

    What is the best Program to Design PCB

    Yousef Musawa, Sep 15, 2016, in forum: Circuit Help
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    327
  5. suyog
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    451
    suyog
    Oct 16, 2016
  6. Jean-yves

    LED burns when oscilloscope is connected to it

    Jean-yves, Oct 20, 2016, in forum: General Electronics Chat
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    456
    dorke
    Oct 21, 2016
  7. jishak
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    368
    Harald Kapp
    Nov 1, 2016
  8. MartyMcFly
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    130
    KMoffett
    Jan 2, 2017
Loading...