Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Bench Power Supply

chopnhack

Apr 28, 2014
I think its time I built a bench power supply to continue my learning of electronics. I have a few thoughts of what I might need, but would like to hear other more experienced voices in this area. I am looking to build not buy a basic psu - and lets not get into the whole linear vs. switching debate: I am a novice without an oscilloscope so I can't see the difference nor do I think I would be building circuits so sensitive that it should matter ;-)

Some specs that I thought would be good to have: 0-24VDC both +/- no more than 5A.

I came across this schematic and thought it was pretty cool:
http://www.eleccircuit.com/dual-power-supply-3v5v6v9v1215v-with-lm317lm337/

dual-power-supply-3v5v6v9v1215v-with-lm317lm337.jpg

I would change the rotary switches out with perhaps two coarse and fine control multiturn pots, a pair each for the +/- rails.

What do you guys think? What do you use?

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
That looks reasonable. I like the idea of using trimpots to set the output voltages.

BTW I fixed your link so it points to the article. Previously it didn't work at all - the forum software included the trailing >> in the URL! You need to put the URL by itself.

The diodes in the bridge rectifier are under-rated at 1A. I would use 1N5404 (3A) or an integrated bridge (http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/GBU4D/GBU4DFS-ND/1055186 USD 1.00) instead of separate diodes. Personally I would use more smoothing - 3300 µF or 4700 µF for C1 and C2.