Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Bee venom collecting device

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sasa

Aug 11, 2016
Hi to all.
I'm new to this forum, and I'm not very experienced in electronics (however I know some VERY basics)... so my electronics vocabulary is also probably very poor.
So...
I'd like to make an electronic device that "shocks" honey bees so they "sting" a glass plate and leave their venom there. The point of this is venom collection that has multiple medical uses, and the process itself is not lethal nor harmful for bees (otherwise when a bee really stings someone, it dies after that).
There are such devices on market but they are very expensive (hundreds of dollars).
There are many researches on this topic, but they usually don't go too deep into electronics, but more into frequency, duration, etc. of venom collection and effects on bees themselves.
That said, the device should have these characteristics:
Input should be 12 V accumulator (from car or UPS unit).
Output should be, as said in one of the above mentioned researches "impuls frequency, 1 KHz; voltage, 25V; impulse duration 1s; interval between impulses, 2s."
It would be nice if it had potentiometer so the voltage could be regulated from 0-33 V (that's data from another research).
So... if anyone can help, please do so!
If any additional data is required, please ask.

donkey

Feb 26, 2011
ok a couple of things intrigued me so I have follow up questions
why in all of the world would you collect this venom? the issue I have with giving anyone advice on collecting this is that when stung multiple times by a bee you can get a severe reaction leading to death.
secondly where did you get these values from?
are you just trying to replicate something like this?

I am not saying its something I would do, in fact the uses for venom from bee's is in fact not really scientific as yet and need refining. A back yard job is not something I would goto for this.

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
Something like this?